UNN Department of Education and Political Science Admission Requirement

This article is designed to help students who wish to study Education and Political Science under the Faculty of Education  in University of  Nigeria  Nsukka as it is very important for all candidates who wish to apply for any of the courses offered in UNN  to  carefully confirm and see if the course they Selected is offered in the institution before registering for JAMB.

The University of Nigeria, commonly referred to as UNN, is a federal university located in Nsukka, Enugu State, Nigeria. Founded by Nnamdi Azikiwe in 1955 and formally opened on 7 October 1960, the University of Nigeria has four campuses – Nsukka, Enugu, and Ituku-Ozalla – all located in Enugu State and Aba campus in Abia State

The University of Nigeria was the first full-fledged indigenous and first autonomous university in Nigeria modelled upon the American educational system. It is the first land-grant university in Africa and one of the five most reputed universities in Nigeria. The university has 15 Faculties and 102 academic departments. The University offers 82 undergraduate programs and 211 postgraduate programmes.

The university celebrated its 50th anniversary on October 2010

Also see: Nigerian Universities And Courses They Offering

 ALSO SEE;   Easiest Way of Getting Into 200L in Nigeria Universities


The O’level subject combination and requirements needed to study Education and Political Science;

You require;Five SSCE credit passes or equivalent to include English Language, Government/ History and 3 other


1. OOU accepts TC II with merit/credit passes in English, Mathematics and three other subjects.

2. UNIUYO, UNICAL, UNIPORT require at least a pass in ‘O’ level Mathematics.

3. OAU requires Five ‘O’ level credit/merit. Credit passes must include Government, English Language and Mathematics or Five TC II credit/merit passes must include English Language, Mathematics and Social Studies.- History is mandatory.

4. IAUED, UNIOSUN and UNICAL do not accept History in lieu of Government.

5. UNIBEN, DELSU, OOU and LASU require ‘O’ level credit in Mathematics. BENIN requires any Social Science subject.

6. UNIPORT requires one of Economics, Commerce or Geography/Physics.

7. LASU requires Credit Passes in Mathematics.

8. BIU requires a credit pass in Mathematics

9. DELSU requires credit in Mathematics.

10. ABSU requires Five SSCE credit passes to include English Language, Government or History and any three subjects, and at least a pass in Mathematics.

11. UNIOSUN requires Senior Secondary School Certificate (SSCE) or its equivalents with credit level passes in five (5) subjects: English Language and Mathematics to form the core subjects, with credit in three (3) other relevant Art or Social Science subject at not more than two sittings. The candidate must earn an acceptable score in the UTME

In UTME, please note that English Language is Compulsory for this course. Therefore, the three (3) other JAMB UTME subject combination needed to study Education and Political Science under the Faculty of Education in the above Universities include;

Government or History plus 2 other Arts or Social Science subjects


1. UNIBEN accepts one Social Science subject and any other subject.

2. OAU requires Govt. and any two of Economics, Geography/Physics and Mathematics.

3. IAUED requires Government and any other two Arts or Social Science subjects.

4. DELSU accepts Government/History and any two (2) other Arts/Social Science/Science subjects


These are the conditions you need to fulfill to gain Direct Entry admission to study Education and Political Science, if you don’t intend to use UTME.

You require;i. Two ‘A’ level passes in relevant subjects chosen from Government or History, Economics and Geography/Physics.

ii. NCE merit pass in Govt./History, Economics and Geography/Physics.


1. DELSU accepts merit in two teaching subjects at NCE one of which must be Political Science / Government.

2. ABSU accepts pass in Mathematics.

3. UNIPORT & UNIUYO – No Direct Entry.

4. UNIUYO and UNICAL accept NCE merit and above in Political Science or Government plus UTME requirements.

5. AAU require a pass in ‘O’ level Mathematics

6. UNIBEN requires:
2/3 NCE merit passes including Government/History plus 3/2 O/Level passes including English Language and Mathematics at one sitting.

6. IAUED accepts two A’ level credit passes in Arts and Social Science subjects. Credit passes in NCE, ND.

7. LASU accepts NCE (Merit) in Government/History, Geography, Social Studies or Political Science.

8. BIU in addition to the O’ level requirements specified, a minimum of two relevant subjects passed at GCE Advanced level or NCE (3 merits) in relevant field not below credit level is required.

9. TASUED requires THREE ‘A’ level passes/NCE Credit/Merit to include Government or History.
*ND/HND with upper credit in Public Administration or Local Government.

10. OAU accepts two ‘A’ level credit passes including Government and one other Social Science subject. OR NCE with credit/merit passes in Political Science combined with any other Social Science or professional subject.

11. UNIOSUN accepts two ‘A’ level credit passes including Government and one other Social Science or Arts subject or NCE and approved equivalents in relevant subjects with at least lower credit may be considered.

12. NDU – Same as Vocational and Technical Education.

JAMB Score

All candidates interested in getting admitted into NDA for the 2019/2020 session, should know that to be eligible for the screening, you must have score a minimum of  200 or above in your JAMB result.

For More Updates, Like, Share And Subscribe To RM Blog

Leave a Comment