UNIBEN Department of Electrical/Electronic Engineering Admission Requirement

This article is designed to help students who wish to study Electrical / Electronic Engineering under the Faculty of Engineering, Environment & Technology  in University of Benin  as it is very important for all candidates who wish to apply for any of the courses offered in UNIBEN  to  carefully confirm and see if the course they Selected is offered in the institution before registering for JAMB.

University of Benin is a federal government owned university, funded and managed by the federal government of Nigeria. The university was founded in 1970. University of Benin (UNIBEN) is a research university located in Benin City, Edo State, Nigeria. The university is one of the oldest in Nigeria and has a very large student and staff population. Resulting in a student staff ratio of about 10:1.The University has a diverse student population with student from different parts of the country and different age brackets. University of Benin courses cut across various levels in agriculture, science, etc. university of Benin admission is extremely competitive as Many candidates apply for admission into the university annually. University of Benin school fees is also very affordable and it provides its students with facilities and infrastructure, they have good hostels, roads electricity etc.The National Universities Commission (NUC) has accredited faculties and departments in the university.

Also see: Nigerian Universities And Courses They Offering


The O’level subject combination and requirements needed to study Electrical / Electronic Engineering;

You require;

Five SSCE credit passes to include Mathematics, Physics, Chemistry, English Language and any other Science subject.


(i) BELLS same as in Computer Engineering.

(ii) COOU and ESUTECH accept ‘O’ level pass in English Language.

(iii) COVENANT requires five (5) ‘O’ level credit passes in English Language, Mathematics, Chemistry, Physics and either of Further Mathematics, Biology or Technical Drawing.

(iv) FED-OYE EKITI – Same as in Mechanical Engineering.

(v) UNAAB requires ‘O’ level credit passes in English Language, Mathematics, Chemistry, Physics and Biology.

(vi) FUTA requires at least five (5) ‘O’ level credit passes which must include English Language, Mathematics, Physics, and Chemistry at NOT more than two (2) sittings.

(vii) FUTO – Same as in Agricultural Engineering.

(viii) UI and FUAM – Same as Agricultural and Environmental Engineering.

(ix) UNIJOS – Same as Civil Engineering.

(x) UNILAG – Same as in Chemical Engineering.

(xi) MAUTY requires Physics, Chemistry and Biology/Technical Drawing/ Further Mathematics/ Geography/ Electrical installation and Maintenance Work/GSM maintenance/ Computer Studies and IT/ Basic Electricity/Electronics.

(xii) NDU requires five (5) ‘O’ level credit passes in English Language, Mathematics, Physics, Chemistry and any other subject at not more than two (2) sittings.

(xiii) NTNU accepts;

(a) English Language, Mathematics and either Physics or Chemistry and any other two (2) Science subjects.

(b) ‘O’ level credit pass in Geography as the fifth Science subject.

(xiv) OSUSTECH requires ‘O’ level credit pass in Further Mathematics.

(xv) UNN – Same as in Agricultural and Bioresources Engineering.

(xvi) UYO – As in Computer Engineering.

(xvii) NDA requires one other Science/Technical subject from Technical Drawing, Further Mathematics,Biology, Geography, Electronic Engineering and Basic Electricity.


In UTME, please note that English Language is Compulsory for this course. Therefore, the three (3) other JAMB UTME subject combination needed to study Electrical / Electronic Engineering under the Faculty of Engineering, Environment & Technology in the above Universities include;

Mathematics, Physics and Chemistry


(i) NTNU – Same as in Computer Engineering.

(ii) OOU requires any three (3) of Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics, Biology/Agricultural Science


These are the conditions you need to fulfill to gain Direct Entry admission to study Electrical / Electronic Engineering, if you don’t intend to use UTME.

You require;

Two ‘A’ level passes in Mathematics, Physics or Chemistry


(i) ABUAD and CRUTECH – same as in Civil Engineering

(ii) BAUCHI, AAU, and LAUTECH do not accept D7 in English Language

(iii) BELLS same as in Computer Engineering.

(iv) UNIBEN and UNILAG – Same as in Chemical Engineering

(v) COOU accepts ND/HND/lower credit in Electrical/ Electronics Engineering.

(vi) EKSU accepts ND upper credit in Electrical Engineering and HND lower credit in Electrical Engineering.

(vii) ESUTECH and BAUCHI accept ND/HND in relevant programmes with UTME requirements.

(viii) FED-OYE EKITI – Same as in Mechanical Engineering.

(ix) UNAAB accepts `A’ level passes in Mathematics, Physics and Chemistry or equivalents. Accepts ND upper credit in Electrical/Electronic Engineering or relevant programmes.

(x) FUTA accepts ND upper credit or equivalent professional qualification in Electrical and Electronics Engineering in any related programmes or ‘A’ level passes or equivalents in Chemistry, Physics and Mathematics.

(xi) FUTO requires at least two (2) ‘A’ level passes not below C in Mathematics and Physics or Chemistry. Accepts ND/HND upper credit in Engineering. Candidates must in addition meet UTME requirements. Does not accept first degree or NCE\IBADAN – As in Agricultural and Environmental Engineering.

(xii) UNIILORIN – Same as Agricultural and Biosystem Engineering. Relevant Programmes include Electrical and/or Electronics Engineering Technology, Computer Technology, Telecommunications or Communication Engineering, Power Systems Engineering, Control Systems Engineering, Instrumentation Engineering, Biomedical Engineering.

(xiii) UNIJOS requires ‘A’ level or IJMB passes in Chemistry, Physics and Mathematics. It also accepts ND (credit level) in Electrical/Electronics Engineering, Computer Engineering or a closely related programmes from recognised institutions. Accepts ‘O’ level credit pass in Mathematics.

(xiv) LAUTECH accepts

a) ‘A’ level passes in Pure Mathematics, Physics, Applied Mathematics or Chemistry.

b) ND/HND Upper credit in Computer Science, Electrical or Mechanical Engineering plus UTME requirements.

(xv) MAUTECH accepts;

a) GCE `A’ level passes in Mathematics, Physics and Chemistry

b) ND upper credit in Electrical/Electronics Engineering.

c) HND Electrical/Electronics Engineering.

(xvi) NDA requires the other Science subject from Technical Drawing, Further Mathematics, Biology and Geography.

(xvii) NDU, MAKURDI and UNAAB – Same as in Agricultural Engineering.

(xviii) NTNU and UYO – Same as in Computer Engineering.

(xix) OAU accepts ND/HND upper credit.

(xx) UNIPORT and NDU – No Direct Entry.

(xxi) MOUA and OOU accept ND/HND into appropriate levels plus the UTME requirements.

(xxii) UNIOSUN accepts ND lower credit in Electrical/Electronics.

(xxiii) UNIZIK accepts first degree in relevant programmes

(xxiv) UNN – Same as in Agricultural and Bioresources Engineering.

JAMB Score

All candidates interested in getting admitted into UNIBEN for the 2019/2020 session, should know that to be eligible for the screening, you must have scored 200 or above in your JAMB result.

For More Updates, Like, Share And Subscribe To RM Blog.

Leave a Comment