NSUK Department of Animal Science Admission Requirement

This article is designed to help students who wish to study Animal Science under the Faculty of Agriculture  in Nasarawa State University   as it is very important for all candidates who wish to apply for any of the courses offered in (NSUK), to  carefully confirm and see if the course they Selected is offered in the institution before registering for JAMB.

Nasarawa State University is located in Keffi Nigeria. Nassarawa State University, Keffi (NSUK), is a tertiary institution which was created to encourage the advancement of learning in the state and its neighbouring environment.

NSUK was established under the Nasarawa State Law No. 2 of 2001 as passed by the State House of Assembly under the first democratically elected Governor of Nasarawa State, Governor (Dr.) Abdullahi Adamu but was born and sited in February 2002, at the defunct College of Arts, Science and Technology (CAST), Keffi.

Also see: Nigerian Universities And Courses They Offering

 ALSO SEE;   Easiest Way of Getting Into 200L in Nigeria Universities


The O’level subject combination and requirements needed to study Animal Science;

You require;

Five SSCE credit passes in English Language, Chemistry, Mathematics, Biology/Agric Science and one of Physics, Geography or Economics.


(1) UNIBEN accepts Statistics and Further Mathematics. Also requires at least a pass in Physics and a pass in Biology for candidates with a credit pass in Agric. Science.

(2) UNN accepts five O ’level credit passes in subjects which must include English Lang., Biology/or Agric. Science, chemistry and either mathematics or physics.

(3) UNIBADAN requires five credit passes including Language, Biology,/Agric Sci, Chemistry, Mathematics and any one of
Geography, Physics, and Economics.

(4) RSUST requires five (5) ‘O’ Level credit passes to include English Language, Mathematics, Chemistry, Biology or Agric Science and any other subject.

(5) RSUST requires at least a pass in Physics.

(6) UNICAL accepts Geography and Economics and requires ‘O’ Level credit pass in Physics.

(7)  DELSU & RSUST accept a pass in English.

(8) UNICAL requires a credit pass in Physics.

(9) RSUST – requires credit passes in English, Mathematics, Chemistry, Physics and Biology.

(10)UNIPORT PHC requires Five (5) SSC credit passes to include English Language, Mathematics, Chemistry, Biology/Agricultural Science and any one of Physics, Geography and Economics

(11) UNIOSUN requires five ‘O’ Level credit passes in the SSCE or its equivalent at not more than two sittings in addition to an acceptable credit pass in the UTME.

(12) EBSU requires at least a pass in Physics.

(13) TASU require five SSCE credit passes in Chemistry, Mathematics, Biology/Agric. Science, Physics and English Language. TASU accepts a pass in Physics.

(14) FUAM requires five (5) credit passes in SSC or equivalent at not more than two (2) sittings in the following subjects: Chemistry, Biology or Agricultural Science, Mathematics, English Language and any other subject. At least ‘O’ Level pass in Physics is required. ‘O’ Level credit pass in Agricultural Science must be backed with at least ‘O’ Level pass in Biology. ‘O’ Level pass in English Language is acceptable if high grades are scored in the Science subject


In UTME, please note that English Language is Compulsory for this course. Therefore, the three (3) other JAMB UTME subject combination needed to study Animal Science under the Faculty of Agriculture in the above Universities include;

Chemistry, Biology/Agriculture and Mathematics/Physics.


(1) UNIOSUN requires Chemistry, Biology/Agriculture and any other science subjects.

(2) UNICAL requires Mathematics or Physics.

(3) RSUST requires Agricultural Science or Biology


These are the conditions you need to fulfill to gain Direct Entry admission to study Animal Science, if you don’t intend to use UTME.

You require;

Two ‘A’ level passes or equivalent in Chemistry and one of Biology/Botany/Zoology/Agric Science/Geography/Geology/
Mathematics/ Economics.


(1) OAU and accept HND at (Upper Credit) into 200 level. OAU does not accept Geography, Geology and Economics.

(2) UNICAL accepts:
a) two ‘A’ level passes in any of Chemistry, Biology / Botany/Zoology/Agricultural Science/ Geography /Geology /Economics and Mathematics.

b) HND, OND/NCE at merit level but does not accept IJMB and accepts at least a pass in Physics.

(3) UNIBEN accepts Merit in ND (Upper credit)/HND (Lower credit) in any one of Agric- Economics, Agric-Ext., and Cooperatives, Fisheries, Forestry & Wildlife Mgt., Geology, Advanced Microbiology, Food and Brewing Sc., Science Lab. Tech. plus UTME requirements. NCE in Agric. Science, Biology, Chemistry or Physics (overall merit pass) plus UTME requirements. Does not accept ‘A’ level pass in Health Science.

(4) UNN accepts:
a) Two ‘A’ level passes (London/Cambridge/ Cameroon) (in Chemistry and any of Biology/Botany/Zoology/Agricultural Science. Economics, Physics Geography/Geology, Mathematics (Pure & Applied) in addition to UTME entry requirements.

b) OND/NCE/HND and Degree holders in Agricultural Science/Animal Health and related fields with a minimum of Lower Credit (Merit) in addition to UTME Entry requirements

(5) DELSU accepts Upper credit only. DELSU also accepts NCE (Credit) in Agric Science, Biology, Chemistry or Physics

(6) UNIMAID accepts NCE/ND/HND in relevant fields.

(7) UNIPORT accepts Two (2) A/level GCE or HSC or JUPEB or IJMB passes in Agricultural Science and any one from Chemistry, Biology, Physics, and Economics including UTME entry requirements. OND (Upper Credit) in Agriculture from a recognized Institution including UTME entry requirements. HND with at least a (Lower Credit) from a recognised institution, including UTME entry requirements for a 3-year degree programme. Diploma in Agriculture from a recognised institution with minimum of Credit Pass, including UTME entry requirements.

(8) RSUST in addition to ‘O’ Level requirements accepts:

(a) HND (Lower Credit) in relevant discipline.

(b) OND (Upper Credit) in related discipline.

(c) NCE holders with credit passes in Biology or Agric Science. (d) Two (2) HSC/GCE ‘A’ Level passes in Chemistry and Biology.

(9) FUAM accepts

– Candidates who met UTME requirements, plus ND at lower credit pass (Agric. Or Animal Production and Health) or National Certificate of Education (NCE) merit pass (Agric. Science or Animal Science major) may be admitted to 100 level.
– Candidates with a minimum of upper credit pass (Agric. Or Animal Production and Health) may be admitted to 200 level).
– Candidates with UTME requirements, plus NCE, with minimum of credit pass (Agric. Science or Animal Science Major) may be admitted to 200 levels.)
– Candidates with UTME requirements, plus HND, with upper credit pass (Agriculture or Animal Production and Health) may be admitted to 300 level.

(10) UNICAL accepts HND (credit), OND/NCE (merit) in Agricultural Science or related fields.

(11) TASU accepts National Diploma in Animal Production and health or any other field with animal science related options with a minimum of lower credit pass in addition to UTME requirements.

(12) EBSU accepts

(a) NCE with minimum merit passes in relevant subjects.

(b) HND and ND with minimum of upper credit in relevant programs

JAMB Score

All candidates interested in getting admitted into NSUK for the 2019/2020 session, should know that to be eligible for the screening, you must have score a minimum of  180 and above in your JAMB result.

For More Updates, Like, Share And Subscribe To RM Blog...

Leave a Comment