Nigerian Universities Offering Pharmaceutical Chemistry 2023

Pharmaceutical chemistry is a branch of chemistry that studies drug discovery and development, pharmacology, biology, analytical techniques, and drug chemistry.

The studies’ primary focus will be on the chemical design process and evaluating potential future medications.

According to the Pharmacists Council of Nigeria (PCN), the following schools are accredited to train pharmacists in Nigeria.

  • University of Ibadan, Ibadan, Oyo State
  • University of Lagos, Lagos State
  • Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria, Kaduna State
  • University of Nigeria, Nsukka, Enugu State
  • University of Jos, Plateau State
  • Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife, Osun State
  • Olabisi Onabanjo University, Sagamu, Ogun State
  • University of Uyo, Uyo, Akwa Ibom State
  • University of Benin, Benin City, Edo State
  • Niger Delta University, Wilberforce Island, Bayelsa State
  • Madonna University, Elele, Rivers State
  • University of Maiduguri, Maiduguri, Borno State
  • Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Awka, Anambra State
  • Igbinedion University, Okada, Edo State
  • University of Port Harcourt, Port Harcourt, Rivers State
  • Usmanu Danfodio University, Sokoto, Sokoto State
  • Delta State University, Abraka, Delta State
  • University of Ilorin, Ilorin, Kwara State
  • Gombe State University, Gombe, Gombe State
  • Kaduna State University, Kaduna State

In addition to the above universities, the following pharmacy schools are yet to be accredited:

  • Bayero University (BUK) Kano, Kano State
  • University of Calabar, Calabar, Cross River State
  • Chukwuemeka Odumegwu – Ojikwu University (COOU), Igbariam Campus Anambra State

Entry Requirements

UTME Requirements

UTME subject combination needed to study Pharmaceutical Chemistry under the Faculty of Medical, Pharmaceutical & Health Sciences in the above Universities include:

  • English Language
  • Physics
  • Chemistry
  • Biology

O’Level Requirements

The O’level subject combination and requirements needed to study Pharmacy include the following:

Five (5) SSCE credit passes in English Language, Mathematics, Physics, Chemistry, and Biology.

Direct Entry Requirements

These are the conditions you need to fulfill to gain Direct Entry admission to study Pharmacy if you don’t intend to use UTME. You require:

  • Three (3) ‘A’ level passes in Chemistry, Biology/Zoology, and Physics or Mathematics plus UTME requirements.

Special Requirements (Waiver) Remarks

  • UI requires the ‘O’ level credit passes at one (1) sitting.
  • UNILORIN and NDU require five (5) ‘O’ level credit passes at not more than two (2) sittings.
  • UNN and UNIUYO require the five (5) ‘O’ level credit passes at not more than two (2) sittings
  • UNIBEN accepts an ‘A’ level pass in Botany instead of Biology and a B.Sc. second class in related programs
  • UNIBEN and UNIUYO do not accept an ‘A’ level pass in Mathematics
  • UNILORIN accepts a minimum of twelve (12) Points or B.Sc. second class upper division in Anatomy, Biochemistry, Microbiology, Physiology, Zoology, Chemistry, and other Basic Sciences, Plant Biology, and Industrial Chemistry
  • UNIJOS does not accept Mathematics for Physics. Accepts B.Sc second class and above in related programs. It accepts Direct Entry candidates with ‘A’ level requirements plus five (5) ‘O’ level credit passes in English Language, Mathematics, Physics, Chemistry, and Biology
  • UNILAG accepts a) three (3) JUPEB/’A’-level subjects: Physics, Chemistry, and Biology


Pharmaceutical Chemists create medicines to treat both minor illnesses and severe diseases that could leave you paralyzed for life. They are also in charge of testing new drugs to ensure that they are safe and have minimal side effects.

To all students aspiring to major in Pharmaceutical Chemistry, RealMina continues to wish you academic success.

Leave a Comment