Nigeria NLNG Limited Prize for Science 2019

This is to inform the general public of the 2019 Nigeria NLNG Limited Prize for Science Awards. Interested candidates should continue reading to get more details. The Nigeria Prize for Science is a Nigerian science award given annually since 2004 for excellence in science breakthroughs. It is the country’s highest scientific award. The award is sponsored by Nigeria Liquefied Natural Gas company. The prize describes itself as “bringing Nigerian scientists to public attention and celebrating excellence in scientific breakthroughs”

Recommended: YGAP YHER Africa Accelerator Program.

Nigeria LNG (NLNG) Limited invites entries for The Nigeria Prize for Science, in line with its vision of helping to build a better Nigeria. This annual prize for science is endowed by Nigeria LNG Limited (NLNG) to recognise outstanding scientific achievements by Nigerians and non-Nigerians alike for advancing scientific solutions to prescribed problems afflicting Nigeria, as captured by the theme of the year. The winner(s) would receive an award of one hundred thousand US dollars ($100,000.00).

Read also: Axxela Graduate Trainee Program.

Entries are invited for:

Title: The Nigeria Prize for Science 2019


  • The theme for the 2019 competition is: Climate Change: Erosion, Drought and Desertification. Entries are therefore invited from, researchers for work that contribute to dealing with isues arising from Climate Change especially Erosion Drought and Desertification -especially from the Nigerian perspective.Eligibility
  • Entries, including the supporting documents, must be submitted in six (6) copies, for hard copies.
  • The submission for consideration must be original and indicate the specific area of merit; and all submissions must relate to that particular area.
  • The submission for award must be submitted within the time stipulated.
  • The work should be of outstanding merit and should have advanced the frontiers of knowledge and /or provided an innovative solution in the area of Climate Change.
  • The award is open to all Nigeria and non Nigerians involved in the application of science to proffer a novel solution to remediate the impact of Climate Change especially Erosion Drought and Desertification. These works can be cumulative in nature covering all of these areas or specific to any of the topics listed.

Recommended: Common Wealth Distance Learning Scholarship.

Submission Procedure

  • Applicants must complete and submit their entries online accompanied by an application form obtainable online from the NLNG website or by clicking the Application Form Download Link Below.
  • Hard copy submissions are also acceptable but must be accompanied by the printed copy of the completed application form.
  • Entries not submitted by the stated deadline and according to stated conditions shall not be considered.
  • Members of the Advisory Board or Panel of Judges or their relatives are not allowed to enter their works for the Science Prize during their year of service as well as the following year.
  • Only one entry per contestant(s) is permitted per competition year.
  • No entry previously submitted for this competition may be considered at a later date.
  • NLNG staff or their family members are ineligible to enter for the prize.
  • The prize will be awarded for no other reason than excellence.
  • As the intention is to recognise the most relevant and effective solution to specific Nigerian problems, works of collaboration by Iwo or more persons are also welcome.

See also: Standard Chartered Bank Internship.

Panel of Judges

  • A panel of judges shall be appointed for the Nigeria Prize for Science by the Advisory Board.
  • The appointment of judges shall, as far as possible, reflect and represent a multi-disciplinary approach relevant to the theme. Persons appointed as judges are those who have wide experience, peer recognition, good public image and command respect nationally and internationally.
  • The decision of the process shall be final.

Read also: GOI Peace Foundation International Essay Contest.

Advisory Board

  • Professor Alfrend A.Susu, FAS, NNOM – Chairman
  • Professor Barth Nnaji, FAS, CON, NNOM – member
  • Dr.(Mrs) Nike Akande, CON – member
  • Professor Michael Adikwu, FAS – member

See also: AUDA/NEPAD Essay Contest 2019 For African Youths.

Announcement and Public Presentation of Winner

  • Winners will be announced and presented to the public in October

Application Closing Date: 3rd May, 2019.

Note: Late entries will not be entertained.

Read also: NZFTS 2019/2020 For Citizens Of Developing Countries.

Method of Application
Interested and qualified candidates should send their Entries (containing filled Application Form) to:
The Nigeria Prize for Science,
External Relations Division,
Nigeria LNG Limited,
Intels Aba Road Estate,
Km 16, Port Harcourt-Aba Expressway,
P.M.B 5660,  Port Harcourt,
Rivers State.
The Nigeria Prize for Science,
External Relations Division,
Nigeria LNG Limited,
4th floor, Heron House,
10 Dean Farrar Street,
London, SW1H ODX.


Click Here to Download Application Form (Word Format – doc)

Leave a Comment