Nigeria NLNG Limited Prize for Literature, 2023

This is to inform the general public of the 2023 Nigeria NLNG Limited Prize for Literature. Interested candidates should please continue reading for more details.


Nigeria LNG Limited sponsors the Nigeria Prize for Science and The Nigeria Prize for Literature.

The prizes are aimed at bringing Nigerian scientists and authors to public attention and celebrating excellence in scientific breakthroughs and literary accomplishments in the nation.

​NLNG believes that the science prize will provide leaders with answers to crucial issues in development, improve living standards and re-energize the scientific community to seek solutions to national problems.

With the Nigeria Prize for Literature being sought, it will improve writing, editing, proofreading, and publishing in the country, as well as print and broadcast journalism.


The Nigerian Academy of Science and the Association of Nigerian Authors (ANA), and the Nigerian Academy of Letters (NAL)’s Advisory Board for Literature administer the awards on behalf of Nigeria LNG Limited.

Winners are announced in October, commemorating the first export of LNG cargo by NLNG on October 9, 1999.

The Nigeria Prize for Literature: Nigeria LNG (NLNG) Limited established the annual literary award to recognize the author of the finest book written by a Nigerian in the previous four years.

Prose fiction, poetry, theatre, and children’s literature comprise the prize’s four literary categories. 

The competition this year is for children’s literature. Only Nigerian writers are eligible to enter the competition, irrespective of place of residence. It carries a reward of $100,000.


Entries are now invited for:

Title: The Nigeria Prize for Literature 2023

Submission Procedure

  • Books must be sent to Nigeria LNG Limited’s External Relations Division by the time specified by the prize’s sponsors. The entry will be disqualified for failure to comply with the requirements.
  •  Authors or publishers who follow the competing genres may submit ten copies of the entry and, if available, an electronic copy, along with proof of Nigerian citizenship (a photocopy of a passport or national identity card).
  •  No book published before January 2023 will be accepted. Complete contact information should accompany each submission, including a full contact address, email(s), phone number(s), and other relevant contact information.
  •  There can be only one published work per author. Simple manuscripts won’t be taken into consideration. Even if significant changes have been made or a new edition has been released, every book that has already been submitted for this competition may be submitted again. The only factor considered in awarding the award will be excellence.
  •  Members of the advisory board and panel of judges are not permitted to submit their work for the prize during their term of service and for two years after that. No entries from NLNG staff employees or their families will be accepted.

Panel of Judges

  • The judges have been chosen so that they are representative of the year’s competition in that genre. Judges are chosen for their depth of expertise, reputation among their peers, positive public perceptions, and ability to command respect domestically and abroad.
  •  The Nigeria Prize for Literature’s Advisory Board for Literature has selected a panel of judges.
  •  The Advisory Board’s authorized process outcome will be the final decision.

Panel of Judges

  • Professor Obododinma Oha – Chairman
  •  DR Patric Oloko – Member
  •  Professor Asabe Usman Kabir – Member

An International Consultant will be appointed.

Advisory Board

  • Professor Emeritus Ayo Banjo – Chairman
  •  Professor Jerry Agada – Member
  •  Professor Emeritus Ben Elugbe – Member

Announcement and Public Presentation of Winners

  • The Winners will normally be announced and presented to the public in October.

Application Closing Date: April 5 2023.

Method of Application

Interested and qualified candidates can send their entries to:

The Nigeria Prize for Literature,

External Relations Division,

Intels Aba Road Estate,

Km 16 Port Harcourt-Aba Expressway,

P.M.B 5660, Port Harcourt,

Rivers State.


The Nigeria Prize for Literature,

External Relations Division,

Nigerian LNG Limited

4th Floor, Heron House,

10 Dean Farrar Street,

London, SW1 H ODX.

You can also Email:


The prestigious NLNG Limited Prize for Literature has been established by the government of Nigeria to reward excellence in writing and encourage literary activity in the country.

The prize is intended to foster excellence in writing in Nigeria and develop creative writing and reading habits among the general public.

We hope this has provided you with more insights about the NLNG Prize for Literature.


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Hey! Don't Miss This!

Be the first to get the latest scholarship updates to your email.

You have Successfully Subscribed!