How to Delete Snapchat Messages the Other Person Saved

We love Snapchat for its exciting nature, and the fact that we can send and receive messages makes it more exciting. 

How to delete Snapchat messages the other person saved is very important and necessary to Snapchat users.

Whether it’s a text you planned to send but accidentally sent too soon, a message you thought would be funny but has hurt the other user’s feelings, or you’re probably in a situation of being blackmailed, you will find out how to delete them. 

Let’s guide you through it in this article.

About Snapchat

Launched in 2011, Snapchat has become the go-to social media platform for millions of users who love to document every moment of their day.

The ghost icon app gave these wide-eyed users a platform to record their lives with filters, effects, and other unique features.

Despite the fantastic features that Snapchat offers to the world, a few features in the app are not to everyone’s liking, such as the ability to save texts.

With the flood of texts sent and received every day, it can be challenging to keep track of all the content, ranging from critical to unimportant.

Most Snapchat users do not know how to delete messages that another user has saved.

Therefore, this article will discuss how to delete Snapchat messages saved by another person.

How to Delete Snapchat Messages the Other Person Saved

Below are steps on how to delete Snapchat messages the other person saved;

Step 1: Sign in With Your Snapchat Credentials

Open the Snapchat app on your phone. You must have the latest version of the app installed on your device. If you’re not logged in yet, don’t forget to do so.

Regardless of whether you’re using an Android or iOS device, you’ll need to log into your Snapchat account with the necessary credentials to perform any of the following steps.

Step 2: Go to the Chat You Want to Delete

After you have successfully logged into your Snapchat account, all you have to do is swipe right to reveal the chats section.

Now go to the chat messages you want to delete.

Step 3: Select the Message and Unsave the Message.

Before we move on to the next steps, we must ensure you understand how it works.

If you are the one who saved the message in the chat, you must first unsave the message before it can be deleted.

Try pressing and holding the message, and you’ll notice a menu pop up. Now under the options available in the drop-down menu, tap on Unsave.

This way, you can unsave the message.

Now, if the other person has not saved the message, this text will be automatically deleted after 24 hours, and you will not need to take further steps to delete this text.

However, if the other user saves the text, the message will not delete itself.

Step 4: Delete the Chat Message

As mentioned, once you cancel a message, it will be automatically deleted unless the user on the other end has saved it.

But if it isn’t, here’s what you need to do: 

Try to press and hold the message for a few seconds until the pop-up menu appears on the screen.

You will notice several options like copy, save in chat, delete and reply.

As you can see from the options, save in chat is to save the message so it won’t be deleted.

Copy is to copy the message to the clipboard so you can paste it somewhere else.

Snap Reply is for quoting text and replying to it with a snap, and

Delete is for deleting the message. Select the Delete button.

Step 5: Click the Learn More button.

Once you hit Delete, you’ll again be hit with a pop-up menu with three options stating that your Snapchat friends can see that you’ve deleted something.

You will find the options delete, more information, and cancel in this menu.

Before you immediately press delete and delete the text from the chat, it is best to press Learn more and know the consequences of deleting a message.

Once you hit more info, you’ll be greeted with a message that says, “When you delete a message, we’ll try to remove it from our servers and your friend’s device.

This process may not always work, for example, if someone has a bad internet connection or an old version of Snapchat.”

Step 6: Click OK

After you’ve read what deleting a Snapchat chat message means, it’s time to delete it. Click OK to proceed to the next step.

Step 7: Click the Remove Button.

Once you click OK, you will be redirected to the previous menu, where you were given the More Info, Delete, and Cancel options.

Tap Delete and the message will be deleted from your chat history and Snapchat’s servers.

As Snapchat’s statement says, this may not work if you or the other user have a poor internet connection or if either of you is using an outdated app.

Therefore, we recommend downloading the latest application before proceeding with any steps.

Block the Other Person

If someone has saved messages you sent, but now they are using them to threaten you with something, you could also block the user.

Not only will this restrict the user from bothering you anymore, but all of the chats will be erased entirely from both ends. Follow the steps below:

  • Step 1: If you wish to block someone entirely, go to the user’s profile. 
  • Step 2: Tap on the three dots, and you will come across a few options. 
  • Step 3: From there, select Block, and all the chats from that person will be deleted.

Delete Your Account

If things get serious and out of hand, you could also delete your own Snapchat account, which will automatically delete all of the messages on your account and the messages saved on any other person’s device.

Once you go for account deletion, Snapchat doesn’t delete your account immediately.

It keeps your account deactivated for 30 days, after which all the messages, snaps, and everything else will automatically get deleted from your account and the servers of Snapchat.

If you are not sure about wanting to delete the account, you could reactivate your account before the 30 days run out.

Reactivating your account will not send out a notification to the other user.

Why Can’t I Delete Messages On Snapchat 

There may be times when you will have difficulty deleting chat messages.

As mentioned, this could be due to a bad internet connection or because you have an outdated version of the app.

Let’s learn the solution for the same in the following section:

Fix Your Internet Connection

Before you try to delete any Snapchat message, you must make sure you have a stable internet connection.

Then restart your router if you see that you have a slow connection. If all else fails, you need to contact your ISP and find out what is causing the problem.

If necessary, you would have to change providers.

Update Your App

An outdated version of Snapchat may prevent you from deleting the messages you want. You must go to Google Play or App Store and check if Snapchat has any updates.

If so, update it to the latest version and restart your phone to see if you can now delete the messages.

Restart the Application

Sometimes a simple reboot can solve the most complex technical problems. If you see that you can’t delete the messages, close the Snapchat app once and open it again to see if you can delete the messages this time.

Conclusion 

Snapchat lets you do whatever you want, including deleting those pesky messages.

In this article, we have discussed how to delete Snapchat messages saved by another person. We hope it was helpful.

Leave a Comment