Pinterest has a messaging feature that enables users to communicate with one another through messages, just like other social networking platforms.
You can learn how to delete messages on Pinterest on Android and iPhone in this guide. We’ll also talk about whether blocking someone on Pinterest deletes messages.
While the Pinterest feature may not be as simple to use as Instagram Direct Messages or Facebook Messenger, people may find it a little challenging to use, particularly if you are a beginner.
If you’ve been using Pinterest for a while, you may already be aware that messages cannot be deleted from the platform. However, you can choose to make chats private.
This simply means the message is still available on the server and visible to the recipient; it is just hidden from your inbox.
Let’s get going!
How to Delete Messages on Pinterest
Messages on Pinterest cannot, sadly, be permanently deleted.
The option to delete messages was entirely gone from Pinterest following the most recent update.
You can currently only prevent individual messages from appearing in your inbox.
However, if you are still using an older version of the Pinterest app, you can delete messages permanently by following the instructions below.
Here’s how to do it:
- Launch the Pinterest app on your iPhone or Android phone.
- At the bottom of the bar, tap the Messages icon.
- For three seconds, hold the message you want to delete.
- The item will then be permanently deleted after you tap on delete.
- You’re all set! The message will be permanently removed from your account.
You should keep in mind that messages sent through Pinterest can only be deleted from your chat history.
The other Pinterest user you spoke to won’t have them taken down. Therefore, unless you can convince them to also delete those messages from their account, the chat will still be visible to them.
How to Hide Messages on Pinterest
Have you ever been in a situation where you sent a message you were not supposed to send? Or you unintentionally sent private images or videos? We have all experienced this issue at least once.
On Instagram, it is very simple to delete a message before the recipient has a chance to read it.
The option to unsend the message will appear at the bottom if you simply hold it for a few seconds.
On Instagram, there is no way for the person to recover the deleted message unless they were logged in to the platform when you sent it.
However, there is no direct unsend button on Pinterest.
A message sent to a Pinterest account cannot be deleted.
The good news is that you have the option to block that user, report the conversation, or hide this message from the recipient.
The three actions listed above were designed to prevent the recipient from reading the message you did not intend to send.
You can speak with the Pinterest support staff if nothing else works.
Only in serious cases where it is crucial to have the chats deleted for security reasons is this advised.
Perhaps Pinterest can assist in ending the conversations.
While Pinterest might not have the popularity of the likes of Instagram and Facebook, it is still a useful platform.
Hopefully the people who call the shots at Pinterest HQ realise that they will do themselves huge favors by providing a messaging experience similar to what you have at the Facebooks and Instagrams of this world.
When they roll out those updates, we’ll be here to update this article.
We hope you found this article on how to delete messages on Pinterest useful.
Kindly share with your friends and drop a comment — we would like to hear from you.