How to Delete Messages on Instagram From Both Sides

Before the invention of social media platforms, no one was this crazy about the internet.

However, Instagram and other social media platforms have just turned people’s lives the other way round. 

If you want to know how to delete messages on Instagram from both sides, this is the right article for you.

About Instagram Messages 

Instagram has evolved quite a lot over the years, which has kept users engaged.

Social media has seen several sophisticated platforms throughout its history, and the number is increasing every day.

Instagram is among the most popular and widespread social media platforms worldwide.

Since its launch in 2010, it has taken the social media industry by storm and has been riding the wave of popularity ever since.

It is used by millions of people around the world and is one of the fastest-growing social media platforms.

One of the activities users of the app do on Instagram is messaging. Lots of great features make messaging on Instagram fun.

However, there are times when you send a message you shouldn’t have sent during a conversation.

So how do you avoid this embarrassment? Is there any way to delete a message after sending it?

Does Instagram allow you to delete a message after sending it? This will be the basis of our discussion today.

Can You Delete a Message on Instagram

If you have sent an embarrassing message and you are now wondering whether you can delete it or not, the good news for you is that you can. Instagram allows you unsend a message after it has been sent.

Like most other social media platforms, Instagram also has a feature that allows you to unsend a message.

That said, if you are wondering how to delete messages on Instagram, you would like to know that deleting a message is a breeze on Instagram, and the process is quite simple.

How to Delete Messages on Instagram

If you don’t know how to delete Instagram messages, you can use simple steps to unsend direct messages.

  • To delete a sent message, open the Instagram app and make sure you have an active internet connection.
  • On the home page, you will see a “messenger” icon appear on the top right of the screen.
  • Tap on it, and all your chats will be displayed.
  • Now open the chat you want to delete the message.
  • When you see the message you want to delete, tap and hold for a few seconds.
  • A bar will appear with three options, i.e., “Reply,” “Cancel Send,” and “Next.”
  • Click “Cancel Send.” A message will appear
  • Right below this message, you would see an option to “Cancel Send”; click on it to permanently delete the message.

If you delete a message that has already been forwarded to another person, that person will not see your message.

As mentioned earlier, the message will be permanently deleted for everyone. This also applies to group chats.

This means that if you send a message to an Instagram group chat and then realize you shouldn’t have sent it, you can delete it, and it will be removed for everyone in the group.

However, remember that the message will be permanently deleted and cannot be recovered.

If the message contains important information, it is better to think again before sending it.

How to Delete Messages on Instagram From Both Sides

  • To cancel sending an Instagram message from both parties, launch the Instagram app and then click the “Messenger” icon at the top of the screen.
  • Go to the chat that contains the message you want to delete first.
  • Then long press the message you want to cancel.
  • An option will appear to allow you to do so.
  • By unsending a message, you’ll delete it from all accounts, and the person on the receiving end will no longer see the message as if the conversation never happened.

What Happens When You Unsend a Message

When you unsend a direct message, the recipient will not be notified. Unlike Whatsapp and Facebook, Instagram does not notify its users when a recipient deletes a direct message.

However, it is worth mentioning that it differs for mobile and computer users.

While mobile users never know if a message has been deleted, desktop users can get a notification.

However, it still won’t reveal the contents of that deleted message. If you send a direct message and delete it immediately, this notification will also disappear.

Because of this, it is also possible for the recipient to see the notification right when you send it.

If you suspect your friend may be deleting a message, try to read it immediately to ensure you see the message before it disappears.

Similarly, Instagram will not notify recipients if they delete their entire chat. The chat will be permanently deleted and cannot be recovered later.

However, your friend can still easily see the chat and their messages.

Frequently Asked Questions

Does Blocking on Instagram Delete Messages?

No, whether you block someone or get blocked, the conversation thread is not deleted on either side.

All old conversations will remain as intact as before, and you can open the chat and read messages unless you delete all or the entire chat thread.

Instagram doesn’t delete direct messages from accounts you block. However, nothing happens to messages exchanged between you and that account.

Likewise, messages will remain in the chat if you deactivate your account.

If you see a “User not found” message, it means that a third party has either blocked you or their account has been disabled or deleted.

Will Deleting an Account Remove Direct Messages on Instagram?

If you delete your Instagram account, everything on it will also be deleted, including your chats. Therefore, your direct messages will also be deleted.

Profiles you’ve sent messages to will no longer see your messages when you delete your Instagram account. Moreover, they won’t even notice you in group chats.

Can I Delete an Entire Conversation on Instagram From Both Sides?

No, you cannot delete an entire chat from both sides on Instagram. However, you can unsend all messages in that particular chat.

If you want to learn how to delete Instagram messages from both sides, you’ll need to use an app like Glassagram.

If you chat for a long time, not sending individual messages will take time.

To delete the entire conversation from your side, click on the Instagram app to open it and tap the “Messenger” icon in the upper right corner of the screen.

Now swipe left on the chat you want to delete. A confirmation message will appear: “Permanently delete this chat?”

Click “Delete” to permanently delete the entire conversation. However, the other party still sees the messages.

Does Instagram Allow You to Unsend Multiple Texts at Once?

Unfortunately, Instagram does not offer any feature to delete multiple texts in one command.

You can either delete the entire conversation or unsend messages individually on Instagram.

However, if you ever find yourself needing to delete multiple messages at once, installing a third-party app may work for you.

Fortunately, there are dozens of apps like Glassagram available on the Google Play Store and iOS App Store that can help you with this and help you learn how to delete Instagram messages from both sides. Check their ratings before installing.

However, it is essential to note that using these apps on Instagram violates its guidelines.

Although this does not cause problems in many cases, some accounts have been banned due to this violation.

How Can I Delete Texts on Instagram Individually?

Deleting individual messages is quite easy on Instagram. First, go to the conversation and select “Unsend” when you see the option.

However, remember that Instagram only allows you to unsend one message per command.

Can You Delete a Text on Instagram Without Notifying the Other Party?

Unfortunately, Instagram won’t tell anyone if you send a message in chat, even if it’s been seen or forwarded.

Likewise, you won’t receive a notification when your friend unsends a message.

However, it can be seen that people with computers can see the notification sometimes even after you have deleted the message.

How to Permanently Delete Instagram Messages on Both Sides

Unfortunately, there is no way to delete a direct message on both sides. Instagram allows you to unsend only messages you’ve sent or entire conversations.

Hold the message in the chat and then click “Unsend” to remove it from the chat permanently.

Conclusion 

As much as you want to try and figure out how to delete messages on Instagram from both sides, the good news is that there is a service that can help you with this, so you don’t have to feel like you’re doing all the work.

So drop your opinions below in the comment section, and do not forget to share this post with others. 

Leave a Comment