How to Delete Messages on Google Hangouts

Although Google Hangouts can be a great tool for staying in touch with friends and coworkers, there are times when you may say a few things you wish you could take back.

Be it a humiliating spelling error, vehemently spoken words, or an error in the recipient of a message. 

In this article, we are going to look at how to delete messages on Google Hangouts.

Google Hangouts, which will soon be called Google Chat, isn’t as user-friendly as we had hoped, sadly, so deleting messages can get a tad tricky.

Before we dive into it, it is important to keep in mind that group chat situations won’t work because those cannot be deleted.

Your best course of action in that situation would be to exit the group chat.

Recently, Google Hangouts has seen an increase in users. Perhaps, as a result, it also received a number of updates quickly.

Users were able to delete sent messages in private chats after a mid-2019 update. Message deletion was previously only an option for G Suite enterprise users.

Unfortunately, neither end of the conversation can be deleted. In other words, even if you delete one, the remaining users can still access it.

The messages on another person’s device cannot be deleted.

Additionally, keep in mind that Google Hangouts does not provide the option to delete specific messages.

Only complete conversations with a single user or a group can be deleted.

How to Delete Messages on Google Hangouts on Your Desktop

The quickest way to delete a message on Hangout is to open Google Hangouts on your computer.

To reveal the three vertical dots next to a conversation, you should now hover your mouse over it.

  • To open a drop-down menu, click the three vertical dots.
  • Choose “Delete” from the drop-down menu.
  • Click the “Delete” button once more in the pop-up window.

The conversation can also be “Archived” as an alternative. The conversation is archived instead of remaining on your active list.

It’s preferable to archive a conversation if you simply want to hide it to clear up space on your list. 

You can then review it at a later time if necessary in this manner.

A conversation that is deleted is completely erased from your records.

You don’t have to go through the trouble of deleting a group conversation. Instead, simply departing from the group will make it vanish from your list.

How to Turn Off Conversation History on Google Hangout

Frequently deleting messages can become annoying. If you regularly delete messages, it might be simpler to turn off your conversation history.

Messages will only stay on your devices shortly after you’ve seen them if the conversation history is disabled. 

The app will then delete them. You won’t have to be concerned about going back and deleting your history that way.

This is how you do it:

Visit hangouts.google.com or use your Gmail account to access it.

To access the Settings menu, open a conversation that is currently active and click the cog icon at the top.

Locate “Conversation history” in the settings and uncheck it.

Select “OK” from the menu.

Hangouts will alert all participants if you change the conversation history settings in this manner.

Repeat the procedure each time you want to begin saving the history.

Once you check the box for conversation history, Hangouts will once more record all of your conversations.

It’s crucial to stress once more that this is a unilateral action. 

Other participants’ conversation histories will be saved on their devices unless they decide not to do so.

How to Delete Conversations From the Hangouts App

Here is how to delete conversations from the hangouts app.

Open the Google Hangouts application

Decide which conversation you want to end.

In the top right corner, click the three vertical dots.

Choose “Options” from the drop-down menu after that.

Near the bottom of the list of options, select “Delete conversation.”

As soon as the alert appears, select “Delete.”

The conversation will be deleted everywhere if it is deleted on a smartphone or another device. 

You remove it from your Google account and all associated devices.

How to Delete a Picture Sent via Google Hangouts

You can edit the photos you shared via Hangouts in your Google album if you want to. 

Furthermore, doing so will remove the image from both ends of the conversation.

Go to get.google.com/albumarchive on your computer.

You’ll discover a folder titled “Photos from Hangouts” in your album archive.

You can view every image you’ve sent via Google Hangouts there.

Images that you want to remove from conversations can be deleted, and they will do so immediately.

There isn’t much you can do if other participants downloaded the image before you deleted it.

Conclusion

As Google Hangout transitions to Google Chat, it is important to know how to navigate the platform. 

Hopefully, we get to see interesting updates from Google as time goes on. 

In the meantime, We hope this article on how to delete messages on Google Hangouts was helpful. If you found it useful, kindly drop a comment and share.

Leave a Comment