How to Delete an Old Twitter Account

Keeping in touch is easy with Twitter. It has become a quick way to obtain information with the emergence of the digital age.

Twitter’s main communication style is brief and direct. As a result, it is a very well-liked social media site. 

But, you can always remove your account if you’ve tried Twitter and decided it’s not for you. Here’s how to delete an old Twitter account.

How to Delete an Old Twitter Account Permanently on Desktop or Mobile

It can feel like a major move to delete Twitter. What if that’s how you pass the time at the doctor’s office or your primary pass-the-time activity? 

It could be a challenging decision in a time when so many individuals deal with social media addiction. You can also decide that your account is useless if you never use it.

Whatever your motivations, deleting your Twitter is a relatively simple procedure.

Sign In to Your Account

You will be requested to log in with your password before deleting your account. 

After logging in, click on the profile icon. There will be a drop-down menu.

Deactivate Your Twitter Account

Select “Settings and Privacy” from the drop-down menu. There will be an “Account” option on that page. 

Then, scroll down to the bottom of the page to find the “Deactivate Your Account” option.

Before you may proceed, you must first read the account deactivation information. 

If you’ve gone through all the steps and still wish to delete your account, click “Deactivate [username].”

At this moment, you must reenter your Twitter handle and confirm your password. 

To complete the procedure, you will be required to select the “Deactivate Account” button once more.

Why Can’t I Permanently Delete My Twitter Account?

In the internet world, deactivation and deletion are two very different things. 

When you deactivate your account, it becomes inactive. No one, not even you, can view or access it.

But that doesn’t mean it’s gone from the web. It can be reactivated, usually within a time frame specified by the company. 

When you delete anything, it is gone forever and cannot be recovered.

Accounts cannot be deleted immediately on Twitter. 

Deactivating your account places it on hold for a limited time. 

Your account will be terminated if you do not reactivate your account within 30 days. There is nothing you can do to hasten the process.

Frequently Asked Questions

What Is the Difference Between Deactivating and Deleting a Twitter Account?

Deactivation isn’t much of a huge deal. You can deactivate your account to see if you miss it or if Twitter is more important in your life. 

Twitter allows you 30 days to make your choice.

Follow the instructions above to deactivate it, and your account will be inactive for thirty days. 

It will be deleted if you have not reactivated your account after thirty days.

Deactivation is a simple technique to keep everything off the Internet. 

It makes things invisible and keeps you disconnected. 

Reactivation isn’t difficult, but you must do it within the specified time frame.

Once your Twitter account has been deleted, you will not be able to undo anything, restore your account, or change your mind later.

How Do I Make My Twitter Account Private?

If you’d rather have just a few people have access to your tweets and media, then it is best to switch your Twitter account from public to private.

With a private Twitter account, whatever you tweet is only visible to your followers, all of whom must be personally approved.

This also means that anyone who isn’t following you or hasn’t been granted access to your feed won’t be able to see your tweets.

Going Private on Twitter is a very simple process. Follow the steps below to get started.

How to Make Twitter Account Private on Mobile

1. Launch the Twitter mobile application.

2. In the top-right corner, tap the Settings icon.

3. Tap the back arrow to access the complete options menu.

4. Select Privacy and security, then Audience and tagging.

5. Press the Protect your Tweets slider, then tap Done.

How to Make Twitter Account Private on PC

1. Go to the Twitter website and Log in to your account.

2. Click More on the left menu tab, then Settings and privacy in the pop-up menu.

3. Navigate to the Privacy and security page, then to Audience and tagging.

4. Check the Protect your Tweets box.

5. Confirm your selection by clicking Protect.

How to Approve New Followers on Desktop or Mobile

1. For desktop, click More on the left menu tab, then Follower requests in the pop-up menu.

2. For each request, click Accept or Decline.

3. On a mobile device, tap your profile photo in the upper right area and Follower requests.

4. For each request, tap the check or x.

Final Thoughts

Some of us have a social media junkyard of former accounts. 

Maybe you tried Twitter a long time ago and decided it wasn’t for you. But you didn’t go back to delete your account.

The good news is that even if you haven’t used your account in a long time, deleting an old account is a simple process. 

You follow the same processes as described above for deactivation.

Try searching through Google’s password manager if you have an old account and don’t remember your password. 

It may have been kept for you. 

Otherwise, you should be able to request a password reset to gain access to your account.

We hope this article on how to delete an old Twitter account was helpful. Kindly share with friends and drop a comment if you have any challenges with deleting your old Twitter account. 

We would attend to them as soon as we can.

Leave a Comment