How to Delete a Card in Trello

Deleting a card on Trello isn’t as straightforward as some might think, as the deleting option is only available once the card has been archived. 

In this article, we will look at how to delete a card in Trello.

What Is Trello

Trello is a visual project management and task tracking tool that allows your team to manage any project. 

It allows team members to create boards, lists, and cards for ongoing projects as well as brand-new ones. 

Trello Cards are used to organize ideas, tasks, reminders, and other helpful information. 

Trello cards help you to stay in front of incoming tasks and helps you manage your workload.

There is no limit to the amount of Trello cards you can create, but having so many old cards can make your dashboard look disorganized.

How to Delete a Card in Trello

You can quickly delete a Trello card if you decide it is no longer needed. 

There is no need for outdated and useless cards to take up space on your dashboard.

Because there is no direct delete option, many Trello users are not aware of how to delete their redundant cards. 

Your Trello card must first be archived before it can be deleted. 

Trello gives you the “Delete” option immediately after you archive a card.

Trello is best used on a computer since it gives you a more comprehensive view of all your boards, lists, and cards. On a PC, you can erase a card using this method below.

How to Delete a Card in Trello on PC

  1. On your favorite browser, visit the Trello website.
  2. Log in to your Trello account.
  3. Find the card on your workspace dashboard that you’d like to delete.
  4. To open the card, click on it.
  5. In the card menu’s bottom right corner, click “Archive.” The “Delete” option will display immediately after you archive your card, just below it.
  6. Select “Delete” from the menu.
  7. A prompt will pop up, and all you have to do is select “Delete” once more.

Your account’s Trello card will be immediately erased.

Your card will be permanently wiped when you do this, and you won’t be able to restore it.

It’s best to only archive a Trello card if you’re unsure if you’ll need to use it again or not. 

How to Delete a Card in Trello on iPad

Although Trello is a web-based program, it also has a mobile version. You may get it from the App Store and install it on your iPad or iPhone. 

You will not have to archive a card before deleting it from the mobile app. Here’s how to remove a card from the Trello app on your iPad.

  1. On your iPad, launch the Trello app.
  2. Select the board where the card is kept.
  3. Locate and tap on the card to be deleted.
  4. In the top-right corner, tap the three dots.
  5. Choose “Delete” from the list of choices.

How to Delete a Card in Trello on iPhone

The Trello iPhone app is comparable to the Trello iPad app. This is how you delete a card from Trello on your iPhone.

  1. Start the app.
  2. Navigate to the board that contains the card you want to eliminate.
  3. Tap the card to open it.
  4. Proceed to the three dots in the upper-right corner of the screen.
  5. From the drop-down menu, select “Delete.”

When you delete a card from the Trello mobile app, it is immediately removed from all of your Trello-connected devices.

As a result, you should exercise caution while deciding which cards to eliminate.

How to Delete a Trello Card on an Android

Here’s how to delete a Trello mobile app if you have an Android device.

  1. Strat up Trello on your Android device.
  2. On your dashboard, locate the card you want to erase.
  3. Tap the card to open it.
  4. Select the three dots in the screen’s upper-right corner.
  5. Choose “Delete” from the list of choices.
  6. That’s the end of it. Your Trello card will be removed from your account instantly.

Frequently Asked Questions

How to Delete Lists on Trello

If your Trello workspace is in desperate need of proper reorganization, you may want to consider eliminating your Trello lists.

Unfortunately, Trello does not allow you to delete lists. 

Trello suggests that you archive lists by clicking on the three horizontal dots next to the list title and then select “Archive This List.” 

Archived lists are hidden and out of the way, but they are still there in case you need them.

The Workaround for Deleting Trello Lists

There is a workaround if you truly need to delete a Trello list (and don’t want to waste time deleting each individual card on the list). 

Rather than archiving your list, move it to a fresh empty board by clicking the three dots icon and then selecting “Move List.”

You can delete the new board once all of the listings you want to eliminate are on it.

When you erase a board, you also delete all of its lists (and the cards on those lists). However, lists, like boards and cards, cannot be recovered once they have been deleted.

Conclusion

Team members can manage deadlines, assign projects, and receive feedback from one another using Trello cards.

If you store cards that you no longer require, you will simply waste space and effort searching for essential information. 

As a result, you should delete any Trello cards that you no longer require.

Leave a Comment