FUTO Department of Biological Science(s) Admission Requirement

This article is designed to  students who wish to study Biological Science(s) Faculty of Sciences in Federal University of Technology, Owerri (FUTO)  as it is very important for all candidates who wish to apply for any of the courses offered in Federal University of Technology, Owerri to carefully confirm and see if the course they Selected is offered in the institution before registering for JAMB.

The Federal University of Technology Owerri (FUTO) is the premier University of Technology in Nigeria, established in October 1980 . Her mission is to operate practical and result-oriented programmes and training geared towards transforming the nation’s economy from consumer-oriented to production-oriented, with a sound technological base.

FUTO has evolved as the national leader in manpower development in engineering, science and technology; Constituting the primary supply of skilled manpower to the industry.


  • ♦   Identification of technological problems and needs of the society and finding solutions to these, within the context of overall national development
  • ♦   Provision and promotion of sound basic scientific training as a foundation for the development of technology and applied sciences, taking into account indigenous culture and the need to enhance national unity
  • ♦   To act as an agent and catalyst for the effective and economic utilization, exploitation and conservation of the country’s natural, economic and human resources, through training research and innovation.

SEE: List Of Courses Offered In FUTO 

To study Biological Science(s) candidates must meet the following requirements.


The O’level subject combination and requirements needed to study Biological Science(s);

You require;

Five SSCE credit passes to include English Language, Mathematics, Chemistry, Biology and any other Science subject.



(i)  UNN – as in combined courses.

(ii)  BSU requires ‘O’ level credit passes in English Language, Physics or Geography.

(iii)  KASU, FUTO, OSUSTECH and CRUTECH require ‘O’ level credit pass in Physics as the fifth (5th) subject..

(iv) ABU and FUNAAB require five (5) ‘O’ level credit passes to include English Language, Mathematics, Chemistry, Biology and Physics

(v) GOUU requires five (5) ‘O’ level credit passes at not more than two (2) sittings in subjects which must include English Language, Mathematics, Chemistry, Physics and Biology.

(vi) NDA requires one (1) other Science subject from Physics, Further Mathematics or Agricultural Science.


In UTME, please note that English Language is Compulsory for this course. Therefore, the three (3) other JAMB UTME subject combination needed to study Biological Science(s) under the Faculty of Sciences in the above Universities include;

Biology, Chemistry and Physics or Mathematics.



(i) MAUTECH require, Chemistry, Biology/Agricultural Science and either Mathematics or Physics.

(ii) ADELEKE accepts Mathematics, Chemistry and Physics.

(iii) OSUSTECH accepts Agricultural Science in lieu of Physics and Mathematics.

(iv) FUTO requires Chemistry, Biology and Physics.


These are the conditions you need to fulfill to gain Direct Entry admission to study Biological Science(s), if you don’t intend to use UTME.

You require;

(i) Two (2) ‘A’ level passes to include one (1) of Botany, Zoology, Biology or Chemistry.

(ii) ND/NCE in related programme/subject.

(i) FUNAAB accepts

a) ND upper credit in Biological Science, Science Laboratory Technology or related programmes.

b) NCE credit in Biology.

c) Two (2) ‘A’ level passes in Chemistry, Biology/Botany/ Zoology, Physics and Mathematics.


(ii) UNN – HND and ND upper credit NCE merit/Degree in relevant programmes plus the UTME requirements

(iii) ADELEKE –HND and ND upper credit.

(iii) ADELEKE and BSU require ‘A’ level pass in Biology/Botany/Zoology plus Chemistry/Physics.

(iv)    OOU accepts HND, Final Certificate from the Nigerian  Institute of Science Technology (NIST)

(v)     NDU accepts ND/HND and AIMLT including general ‘A’ level requirements.

(vii)    MAUTECH accepts

(a)      two (2) ‘A’ level passes in Biology and Chemistry

(b)  HND lower credit in relevant programme.


(viii)  UMYUK accepts candidates with a minimum of nine (9) points in IJMB/  ‘A’ level/NCE, in Biology, Chemistry. ND lower credit in relevant programme may also be admitted.

(ix)  FUTO requires two (2) ‘A’ level passes not below Grade C from Chemistry, Biology, Botany and Zoology.  It accepts ND/HND upper credit in related programmes.  Candidates must in addition meet the UTME requirements.  It does not accept First Degree and NCE.

(x)     AUGUSTINE accepts two (2) ‘A’ level passes in Biology, Botany, Zoology and Chemistry or Physics. NCE and ND credit in addition to five (5) ‘O’ level credit passes or its equivalent.

JAMB Score

All candidates interested in getting admitted to Federal University of Technology, Owerri, for the 2019/2020 session, should know that to be eligible for the screening, you must have scored 180 or above in your JAMB result.

For More Updates, Like, Share And Subscribe To RM Blog

Leave a Comment