FUTMINNA Department of Education & Geography/Physics Admission Requirement

This article is designed to help students who wish to study Education and Geography / Physics    Faculty of  Education in Federal University of Technology Minna (FUTMINNA)  as it is very important for all candidates who wish to apply for any of the courses offered in FUTMINNA   to  carefully confirm and see if the course they Selected is offered in the institution before registering for JAMB.

Federal University of Technology Minna (FUTMINNA, FUTMx) is a Federal Government established post-secondary educational institution located in Minna, Nigeria

FUTMINNA specializes in technological education. The University is a designated Centre of Excellence in Biotechnology and Genetic Engineering and has a core competence in the development of vaccines and drugs.

FUTMINNA was founded in 1983, and the first Vice-Chancellor was Professor J.O. Ndagi who served from 1983 to 1990. The governing bodies are the Council and the Senate. In the beginning, the University took over the facilities of the former Government Teachers’ College Bosso, for use on a permanent basis. This site now serves as the Bosso Campus of the University. The main campus gidan kwano which is sited on a 10,650 hectares of land is located along the Minna – Kataeregi – Bida Road. The institution is listed in the Guide to Higher Education in AfricaAssociation of African Universities and the International Association of Universities, 1999.

Also see: Nigerian Universities And Courses They Offer   


The O’level subject combination and requirements needed to study Education and Geography / Physics;

You require; Five SSCE credit passes to include Geography/Physics, English Language and Mathematics.


1. UNIPORT, DELSU, UNICAL, and UDUSOK accept a pass in Mathematics.

2. UNIABUJA and UDUSOK accept a pass in English Language.

3. OOU and ABSU require Government or Economics.

4. EKSU requires two Social Science subjects.

5. OAU requires credit pass in Geography/Physics and any two of Economics, Government, Mathematics and History.

6. FUTMINNA accepts NCE (merit) ND/HND at lower credit in addition to four relevant UTME subjects.

8. IMSU accepts at least a pass in English Language.

9. UMYU requires five ‘’O’ credit passes which include English Language, Mathematics, Geography/ Physics and any of Chemistry, Physics, Economics, Biology or Agricultural Science.

10. MAUTECH same as in Education Mathematics.

11. UNIMAID accepts a Pass in English Language.

12. ABU requires Five ‘O’ level credit passes to include Geography/ Physics, English Language and Mathematics and any other subject from Chemistry Physics or/Biology.

13. UNICAL requires five O/L credit passes to include English Language, Mathematics and any other Social Science subjects


In UTME, please note that English Language is Compulsory for this course. Therefore, the three (3) other JAMB UTME subject combination needed to study Education and Geography / Physics under the Faculty of Education in the above Universities include;

Geography/Physics plus two other Social Science/Arts subjects.


1. FUTMINNA – Geography/Physics and any two subjects from Mathematics, Biology and Physics.

2. OOU and DELSU do not accept Arts subjects.

3. DELSU – Geography/Physics and at least one of Mathematics/ Economics/Government.

4. UNILAG accepts any three Of Literature in English, History/Government, French, Geography, Mathematics, Yoruba/Igbo, CRS/IRS, Arabic, Commerce, Economics, Biology, Agric Science, Chemistry.


These are the conditions you need to fulfill to gain Direct Entry admission to study Education and Geography / Physics, if you don’t intend to use UTME.

You require; Two ‘A’ level passes/NCE merit level passes which should include Geography/Physics.


1. UNILAG requires very good passes in three JUPEB subjects:
(a) Geography and any other two (2) of Economics, Government, Biology, Agric. Science, Chemistry, History, CRS/IRS, Yoruba and Igbo.
(b) Two A/Level passes in Geography, Economics or Government.
(c) NCE passes in Geography and any other two (2) Social Science subjects.

2. EKSU & UNIJOS accept General English at NCE in lieu of credit in O/L English Language or TC II merit.

3. MAUTECH accepts NCE (merit) plus a minimum of three relevant credits in ‘O’ level/TC II

4. UMYUK accepts two A/Level credit passes in Geography/Physics and any other Science subjects Economics or Government. NCE with Merit in Geography/Physics and any other Science subjects in also acceptable.

5. MAUTECH accepts GCE ‘A’ level or its equivalent in two relevant subjects /NCE with distinction, credit or merit in the major.

6. OAU accepts Two ‘A’ level passes in relevant subjects which must include Geography/Physics plus other subject chosen from Economics, Mathematics, Business Methods and Government or NCE (Social Studies combined with any Social Sciences subject may be accepted.

7. ABU accepts:
(a) Two ‘A’ level passes/NCE merit level passes in Geography/Physics and education.
(b) IJMB/AL passes with a minimum of C grade in Geography/Physics.

8. TASUED requires two A’ level or NCE (merit) in geography and any one of Social Science subjects.

JAMB Score

All candidates interested in getting admitted into FUTMINNA  for the 2019/2020 session, should know that to be eligible for the screening, you must have scored 180 or above in your JAMB result.

For More Updates, Like, Share And Subscribe To RM Blog


Leave a Comment