FUTMINNA Department of Computer Engineering Admission Requirement

This article is designed to help students who wish to study Computer  Engineering  Faculty of Engineering, Environment and Technology  in Federal University of Technology Minna (FUTMINNA)  as it is very important for all candidates who wish to apply for any of the courses offered in FUTMINNA   to  carefully confirm and see if the course they Selected is offered in the institution before registering for JAMB.

Federal University of Technology Minna (FUTMINNA, FUTMx) is a Federal Government established post-secondary educational institution located in Minna, Nigeria

FUTMINNA specializes in technological education. The University is a designated Centre of Excellence in Biotechnology and Genetic Engineering and has a core competence in the development of vaccines and drugs.

FUTMINNA was founded in 1983, and the first Vice-Chancellor was Professor J.O. Ndagi who served from 1983 to 1990. The governing bodies are the Council and the Senate. In the beginning, the University took over the facilities of the former Government Teachers’ College Bosso, for use on a permanent basis. This site now serves as the Bosso Campus of the University. The main campus gidan kwano which is sited on a 10,650 hectares of land is located along the Minna – Kataeregi – Bida Road. The institution is listed in the Guide to Higher Education in AfricaAssociation of African Universities and the International Association of Universities, 1999.

Also see: Nigerian Universities And Courses They Offer   

To study Computer Engineering  candidates must meet the following requirements.


The O’level subject combination and requirements needed to study Computer Engineering;

You require;

Five (5) SSC credit passes to include Mathematics, Further Mathematics, Chemistry , Physics and English Language.


(i) ABUAD and OOU accept any Science Subject in lieu of Further Mathematics.

(ii) ESUTECH requires ‘O’ level credit passes in English Language and all other relevant subjects.

(iii) FED-OYEEKITI requires five (5) ‘O’ level credit passes in English Language, Mathematics, Physics, Chemistry and one Science or social science subject.

(iv) UNILAG – Same as in Chemical Engineering.

v) FUTMINNA and BELLS require five (5) ‘O’ level credit passes in English Language, Mathematics, Physics, Chemistry, and any other Science subject.

(vi) NTNU accepts English Language, Mathematics and either Physics or Chemistry and any other two (2) Science subjects.

(vii) RSUST and MOUA – Same as in Civil Engineering.


In UTME, please note that English Language is Compulsory for this course. Therefore, the three (3) other JAMB UTME subject combination needed to study Computer Engineering under the Faculty of Engineering, Environment & Technology in the above Universities include;

Mathematics, Physics and Chemistry


(i) NTNU accepts any three (3) Science subjects.

(ii) OOU requires any three (3) of Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics, Biology/Agricultural Science.


These are the conditions you need to fulfill to gain Direct Entry admission to study Computer Engineering, if you don’t intend to use UTME.

You require;

Three (3) ‘A’ level passes in Pure Mathematics or Pure and Applied Mathematics, Chemistry and Physics


(i) BELLS accepts

a) two (2) ‘A’ level passes from Mathematics, Physics and Chemistry.

b) ND/HND upper credit in Computer Engineering, or Electrical/Electronic Engineering.

(ii) UNIBEN, ABUAD and UNILAG – Same as in Chemical Engineering.

(iii) FED-OYE EKITI requires two (2) ‘A’ level passes from Mathematics, Physics and Chemistry.

(iv) UNIILORIN – Same as Agricultural and Biosystem Engineering. Relevant Programmes include Computer Technology, Telecommunications or Communication Engineering, Power Systems Engineering, Control Systems Engineering, Electrical and/or Electronics Engineering Technology, Instrumentation Engineering, Biomedical Engineering.

(v) UNIMAID and UNIBEN – As in Chemical Engineering.

(vi) OAU accepts ND upper credit in Computer Science

(vii) OOU accepts ND/HND upper/lower credit in Computer Science.

(viii) RSUST – Same as in Civil Engineering.

(ix) NTNU accepts any two (2) A’ level passes in Science subjects, ND/HND lower credit or NCE merit in relevant programmes.

(x) MOUA accepts ND/HND upper credit with at least B average in Mathematics plus UTME requirements.

(xi) UYO accepts ND/HND in relevant programmes plus UTME requirements.

(xii) CARITAS accepts ND/HND upper credit in relevant areas for consideration into 200 and 300 levels respectively.

JAMB Score

All candidates interested in getting admitted into FUTMINNA  for the 2019/2020 session, should know that to be eligible for the screening, you must have scored 180 or above in your JAMB result.

For More Updates, Like, Share And Subscribe To RM Blog

Leave a Comment