FG Approves Establishment of 12 New Private Universities

Twelve new private universities have been approved The Federal Government of Nigeria. These Universities are to be stationed in Kano, Niger, Sokoto, Gombe, Delta, Anambra, Abia and the Federal Capital Territory, Abuja.

The issuance of provisional licenses for the establishment of 12 private universities across the country has been approved by The Federal Executive Council (FEC).

The proposed private universities are Pen Resource University Gombe, Gombe State, Al-Ansar University, Maiduguri, Borno State, Margaret Lawrence I -University, Delta State, Khalifa Ishaku Rabiu University Kano, Kano State, Sports University Idumuje Ugboko, Delta State, Bala Ahmed University Kano, Saisa University of Medical Sciences and Technology, Sokoto State, Nigerian-British University Hasa, Abia State and Peter University Acina-Onene, Anambra State as well as Newgate University, Minna, Niger State, European University of Nigeria in Duboyi, Abuja and the North-West University Sokoto. ”

The new universities would be mentored by federal universities close to their locations to provide recruitment of principal officers, academic, and administrative staff, availability of human and material resources for the commencement of any academic programme, among others.

The government said that the country does not have enough universities to accommodate the teeming population of youths desirous for university education.

Leave a Comment